I Resolve to…Well, Lots of Things

I make a lot of resolutions every year. A LOT. On the surface you could argue that’s a pretty silly thing to do and sure-fire way to put a big ol’ checkmark in the “FAIL” column and get moody and down on yourself. But my approach to resolutions has changed over time.

For example, years ago I may have made a resolution not to eat sweets. Then we would be at someone’s house for New Year’s Day dinner or putzing about our own home and there would be those leftover cookies and holiday treats, just taunting me. I would invariably have one (or 5) of those treats and then kick myself for not even making it through ONE DAY with the new resolutions.

Who needs that guilt? Not me.

Instead I identify some of the major things I would like to work on during the year. Then at the end of December, I look back and see what progress I made. I no longer say that I’m going to do x, or not going to do y, or whatever. My aim is just to make progress on the areas I’ve identified. Just progress. That’s all. It doesn’t make any sense to me to try and make huge changes all at once and expect that I won’t slip up from time to time and get down on myself about it.

I’ve got a lot of personal resolutions and even more related to photography and what I want to do, the direction I want to go, how I hope to get there. I could make a huge list of those goals but I wouldn’t want to bore you. Instead, I’m narrowing it down to this, photography-wise: 1) Challenge myself (do what scares me); 2) Create, create and create some more; 3) try to inspire and be more inspired by others; 4) be involved to evolve creatively and in my business.

It may sound generic and entirely too loose and non-specific but when I factor in what I have planned for 2011, it makes sense for me.

I’ll be challenging myself in numerous ways, including delving once again into the photo-a-day project. I’ll be posting my pieces to my Facebook page, so check it out if you are so inclined. I plan to devote more time to my blogs, jump into some styles of photography I’ve previously just dabbled in, etc.

As for the “inspire/be inspired” and the “be involved” goals … well, just stay tuned. There’s a lot on the horizon that I’m super excited about. ☺

I hope you have all had a wonderful start to the new year, and that 2011 brings you happiness, health and even more closer to where you want to be in life.

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

How can you find out more about what I’m doing? Want book a portrait or event session? You can find the latest by checking out my Web site, selecting that neat little “like” button on my Facebook page, following me on Twitter or dropping me an e-mail at jennifer@janusphotoarts.com.

Hope to hear from you!

About Jenn Long

Writer and photog. Uncompromising loyalty to my lip balm, lotions, a good mocha and funky socks.
This entry was posted in about me, photography, Project 365, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Resolve to…Well, Lots of Things

  1. Diana says:

    Excited to see what you do!

  2. Mama says:

    Jenn….somehow I stumbled across this. I’ve been thinking of you a lot lately. You are a real inspiration. Give yourself a big “CHECK MARK” on completing your new years resolution (As for the “inspire/be inspired” and the “be involved” goals … well, just stay tuned) I plan on emailing you…but wanted to say thanks for the inspiration you give…….xo

Leave a Reply

