Parting is Such Sweet Sorrow

I have a deep emotional connection to things I photograph. Sometimes I know why I took a photo; other times I know I needed to for some reason and hope that reason eventually reveals itself.

This photograph is one I immediately knew I had to take, and why. And this is the piece I have the most profound, deepest emotional connection to.

This photo is a representation of where I was in my life, my journey, when I stumbled upon this scene in the middle of nowhere in Maryland. I returned to the location where I shot this – within a few weeks of shooting it, actually, the connection was so strong — and the fence, wire and bush were gone. So even though it’s maybe a little crazy to think this, I can’t help but wonder if this existed just long enough for me to capture it and, in the end, a little piece of myself.

I toiled over how to process the image and ultimately decided to do nothing to it besides some minor adjustments with the contrast and saturation. I didn’t even crop it. Numerous frames were rejected until I found just the right one. I included the piece in my first gallery showing, and it graced my home since.

Today, it goes to the home of another. It speaks to them, and has meaning to wherever they are in their lives. I’m happy they feel a connection to something I created – the ultimate compliment.

Parting in this case really is a sweet sorrow.

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

How can you find out more about what I’m doing? Want book a portrait or event session? You can find the latest by checking out my Web site, selecting that neat little “like” button on my Facebook page, following me on Twitter or dropping me an e-mail at jennifer@janusphotoarts.com.

Hope to hear from you!

About Jenn Long

Writer and photog. Uncompromising loyalty to my lip balm, lotions, a good mocha and funky socks.
This entry was posted in about me, autumn, fine art, gallery, nature, out and about, photography, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

