Keeping Faith…

I’ve been getting more and more inquiries from people who are thinking about sessions that include their beloved family pets. Or sometimes sessions that include only those pets.

More often than not, it’s because the pet is getting old or is sick and the families want some custom photographs to cherish and remember them.

I had such a shoot last week, and I have to say it was one of the hardest ones I’ve ever done. I’m a sucker for animals and a few times I had to choke back tears as I was shooting this beautiful and elegant – yet old and ill – family pet.

She wasn’t able to move much or hold her head up for long. But she was so loved, loved, loved. And she knew it.

Her name was Faith. Actually, that doesn’t do her justice. Her full name was Faith Westminster Abbey, and she was a purebred Ruddy Abyssinian descended from several Cat Fancier’s Association National Grand Champion cats.

Her owner, a good friend of mine, is proud of Faith’s pedigree but that wasn’t all that made her remarkable. She was just an all-around awesome, loveable and friendly cat and a beloved family member.

Sadly, Faith died three days after I took these photos, just shy of her 17th birthday. I’m glad that my friend will be able to keep a bit of Faith with the images I gave her.

=-=-=-=-=-

How can you find out more about what I’m doing? Want book a portrait or event session? You can find the latest by checking out my Web site, selecting that neat little “like” button on my Facebook page, following me on Twitter or dropping me an e-mail at jennifer@janusphotoarts.com.

Hope to hear from you!

About Jenn Long

Writer and photog. Uncompromising loyalty to my lip balm, lotions, a good mocha and funky socks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

