Time…You Slippery One

Time is a slippery little bugger, isn’t it?

This weekend on the East Coast we set our clocks back an hour. Daylight Savings Time ends and I have to admit that it’s a concept I’ve never really been too clear on. Then again, I’ve never really tried to understand why we do that. I guess I had more important things to think about.

Regardless, turning back the clocks means a few things:

1)   We allegedly get an extra hour of sleep. The key word here is allegedly. I have young children and have yet to figure out their sleeping rhythms and why they are often up before dawn on weekends but nearly impossible to wake on school days. For all of you who will be able to take advantage of that extra hour of sleep this weekend . . . how I envy you.

2)   It’ll be dark when I leave for work in the morning and dark when I get home. Bleh.

3)   My Seasonal Affective Disorder will likely be making a repeat appearance! Oh how I’ve (not) missed you.

It’s not all bad though . . . despite not understanding the logic behind it, turning back the clocks has always been, to me, a rapid ushering into fall and winter seasons.  Warm sweaters and blankets, hot coffee, football games, fireplaces blazing, baking, holiday festivities, the hope for snow (and a lot of it!) . . . a very Norman Rockwell view of this time of year, I admit.

But I sometimes wish I had the power to turn the clocks back a bit more than an hour. Lately in looking at my kids, hearing the things they say, the way they interact with me, I say to myself, “Slow down. Sloooow down. Stay little.”

They grow so quickly, and want to grow so quickly. You can’t go back, you can’t make it stop and you can’t slow it down, try as you might. You’ve got logic and years of experience, regrets, memories, etc. to support your argument that they shouldn’t be in such a hurry to grow up, to enjoy being little. But your words fall on deaf ears. They know that growing up means there are lots of things they can do (and say) that they can’t do (and say) as a kid. They want to be like you. For the time being. 🙂

My son LOVED that his shadow in this photo made him look so tall and grown-up. Last night my daughter was wearing my high-heeled boots around the house (the tops of them nearly came up to her bum!) and digs into my make-up and jewelry in an effort to look and feel more grown up.

And the things they say! Young men and women in the making for sure.

Lately my 5-year-old daughter has been saying, “Seriously? SERIOUSLY???” to just about anything.

Me: “We’re having carrots with dinner tonight.” Her: “Seriously? SERIOUSLY???”

Me: “We need to go to the toy store and get a present for your friend’s birthday.” Her: “Seriously? SERIOUSLY???”

And my wonderful nearly 9-year-old son has told me on a few occasions that I just “don’t get it.” (*sigh*)

But of course they still have a decent hold on their innocence, for now. They still bicker and can’t keep from fussing each other and squabbling like siblings do. They are at each other CONSTANTLY! And the attitudes at times. Oh my.

And it’s funny to hear them say things that they think mean one thing but that we’ve come to think mean another. This week my daughter was looking for something and then mentioned that I “had a lot of junk in my trunk.” OK, so that seriously gave me a moment of pause. It took me a few beats to realize she was talking – literally – about a lot of “junk” (bags of things I was hiding from the kids) in the trunk of my car that she happened to see. She was wondering if the item she was seeking was in there.

Whew! Good to know they have a ways to go on some of things before they understand things more and are all grown up. Although of course I still wish I could turn the clock back more than that measly hour.

How can you find out more about what I’m doing? Want book a portrait or event session? You can find the latest by checking out my Web site, selecting that neat little “like” button on my Facebook page, following me on Twitter or dropping me an e-mail at jennifer@janusphotoarts.com.

Hope to hear from you!

About Jenn Long

Writer and photog. Uncompromising loyalty to my lip balm, lotions, a good mocha and funky socks.
This entry was posted in about me, children, photography, portraits, seasonal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time…You Slippery One

  1. Jen says:

    Ah. You are so right! We wish for them to get bigger and grow and as they do, realize the moments we will never get back. Great blog. I think you should write a book.

  2. Thanks, Jen! I have thought about writing a book, but on a different subject. We’ll see how it goes. Glad you like the blog!

Leave a Reply

