Just Be…

“There is just one life for each of us: our own.” — Euripides

I love photographing children. Let them be candid, natural and organic in what they are doing and how they are expressing themselves and you’re really capturing a piece of them in a particular moment. The same is true for adults, of course, although we tend to be a tad more reserved at times, huh?

The photos I like best in the end are those that showcase people just being themselves, exploring their world, interacting with it, with others and, if they are so inclined, with me. I’ve never been one for canned or posed images, although I can understand when and where those kinds of photographs are needed or wanted.

A couple of weeks ago I had a shoot in Delaware County, Pa., with an energetic trio of siblings. We shot at an old mill in the county and the weather and conditions couldn’t have been better – foliage about at it’s peak, warm weather, beautiful skies…

And one of the best parts (for me)? The kids’ brought their nets to try to catch frogs (or whatever else was in the water). They got in the water up to their knees at times. They got dirty. They ran in different directions. They had fun. They argued. Just like siblings! It was real and natural. They were just themselves.

Here are some of my favorite images from that shoot:

How can you find out more about what I’m doing? Want book a portrait or event session? You can find the latest by checking out my Web site, selecting that neat little “like” button on my Facebook page, following me on Twitter or dropping me an e-mail at jennifer@janusphotoarts.com.

Hope to hear from you!

About Jenn Long

Writer and photog. Uncompromising loyalty to my lip balm, lotions, a good mocha and funky socks.
This entry was posted in children, clients, nature, photography, portraits, services. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Be…

  1. Jen says:

    Thank you for highlighting my kids in your blog. It brought tears to my eyes! They did have fun. And boy did the argue. I’m amazed at how you actually got the pictures you did…smiling, laughing and TOGETHER!!! You work miracles for sure.

    You did an amazing job, Jen. I’m going to have a blast picking and choosing and planning what we are going to do with these photos! Thanks so much….

    • Jennifer Long/Janus Photo Arts says:

      Anytime! I had a wonderful time photographing them…I knew when we were in it that I was getting some gems. And if I was able to bring tears to your eyes…then I did my job well, huh? Always a good reaction to get. 🙂

Leave a Reply

