It’s a Texture Thing

Texture. It’s everywhere. We speak of textures in food, music, art, even in literature. It’s those essential traits and characteristics of a subject that give it depth, feeling and, at times, emotion.

I’ve always been drawn to textures, whether something regular and consistent as in woven materials or more erratic and organic in substances that rust and decay. And everything in between, too.

After a day last week spent looking at more sprawling landscapes, I had the hankering to find some smaller details to shoot and I focused my pursuit on textures. I ended up shooting quite a bit but then pared down the selection to those that, for whatever the reason (and I’m not sure I’ll share those reasons 🙂 ), appealed the most to me. And then scanned the archives for some complimentary pieces.

Life textures….

How can you find out more about what I’m doing? Want book a portrait or event session? You can find the latest by checking out my Web site, selecting that neat little “like” button on my Facebook page, following me on Twitter or dropping me an e-mail at jennifer@janusphotoarts.com.

Hope to hear from you!

About Jenn Long

Writer and photog. Uncompromising loyalty to my lip balm, lotions, a good mocha and funky socks.
This entry was posted in fine art, photography, textures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

