One a Day / My Week in Photos: Oct. 11-17, 2010

A few years ago I embarked on a project to take a picture a day for an entire year. I’m proud to say I accomplished that goal, showing me that I actually could do something positive and productive every day. (Now I need to put that level of commitment into something like exercise!)

I grew a lot as a photographer that year. I saw things with different eyes, challenged myself to try new approaches. It was a year of self discovery on the photography front. All in all, that photo-a-day project fortified my desire to continue my pursuit of this art form, and fueled my passion and commitment to be better behind the lens.

I’m planning to take on the project again in 2011, this time with some special themes to challenge me even further. In the meantime, I’ve been shooting where I’ve been able and combing the archives, looking at photos I may not have seen for a while or am now looking at in a different way.

So on my Facebook page I started posting a photo a day. Called “Today’s Motivation,” I’m honing in on those images that are speaking to me and to which I have an emotional connection. A friend has suggested I give a little bit of information about my motivation or what the photos represent to me. I’m reluctant to do that. I don’t want to influence what you or anyone else may take from a photo. Perhaps it’s best that I remain silent on the meanings and personal significance of the images and let them speak for themselves.

Anyway, in case you aren’t following me on Facebook (and I guess I can forgive that… ☺), I’ve decided to post a review of the week’s selected images.

So here you go! The week in review…

Keep up with the latest from Janus Photo Arts by finding me on Facebook or following me on Twitter. Interested in booking a session? You can reach me at Jennifer@janusphotoarts.com.

About Jenn Long

Writer and photog. Uncompromising loyalty to my lip balm, lotions, a good mocha and funky socks.
This entry was posted in autumn, children, fine art, light, nature, photography, portraits, Project 365, still life, week in pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One a Day / My Week in Photos: Oct. 11-17, 2010

  1. I’m a big fan of your use of DOF. I love how sharp and crisp the details are. Good luck with next years goal! I’m sure it will be great.

  2. Lynn Watson says:

    Jenn, you know how I feel…I think your photography work is simply spectacular. I wish you much luck with this endeavor….very proud of you, my dear friend!

Leave a Reply

