A little bit about me…

I’ve been getting a lot of questions lately about the kinds of things I shoot, how I got into photography, my approach to my work, where I hope to go with my business and work, etc. I LOVE getting these questions, and I thank you for the interest! Instead of continuing to answer them piecemeal, I took some of the questions and turned them into a blog posting.

If you read this and still want to know more, please ask!

How did you get into photography?

This goes waaaaaaaay back, as it often does for photographers.

Some of my earliest memories with a camera were of taking a few pictures with my grandparents’ little point-and-shoot camera, the kind with the rotating flashcube on the top. Only I was holding the camera backwards and took a bunch of pictures of my eye. Hey, I was only 8.

Later came some disposable and cheapy cameras, and another fond memory, this one from my teenage years — my mother taking a roll of film to be developed and being angry after looking at the processed photos and realizing I used all 36 exposures taking pictures of our cat sleeping on the front porch.

To her, it was a waste. To me, it was perspective development. (At least that’s how I see it now. 🙂

My interest in photography has never waned and I’ve spent years honing and refining my skills. And continue to do so.

What kind of photography do you do?

Oh, all kinds. Fine art photography, portraits (includes babies, children, adults, maternity, couples, families, pets, etc.), lifestyle, events, commercial, editorial…pretty much anything. Except weddings. If you are interested in hiring a wedding photographer I know several excellent ones and would be happy to make a referral.

What sets you apart from other photographers?

I believe all photographers have a distinctive eye and perspective. I have an emotional connection to what I shoot. I will not waver from that, and I believe that is largely what sets me apart from others. I aim to capture a unique perspective on those things that are fleeting, can often be overlooked or considered mundane to many. Through this approach I try to capture the personality and essence of each subject or person at a specific moment.

I never take or offer a fine-art photograph with the thought that it might be marketable. It never enters my mind. I need to have a connection to what I’m shooting, even if the meaning of that connection is not immediately obvious. And I bring that emotional connection to portrait sessions by getting to know my clients before a shoot and ensuring that their desires and my style mesh.

Where might I have seen your work?

I’ve had photographs in Baltimore magazine, The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Research Annual Report, a variety of Websites, and in galleries and shows in the Baltimore and Lancaster areas. And I hope that some of my portrait work is gracing the homes of my fabulous clients! 🙂

Do you sell prints?

You bet! Drop me a line if you are interested in a print. I’ll soon be launching a site that will allow for easy online ordering. So hang tight!

What is your approach to portrait sessions?

It’s all about you.  I make sure you are in a comfortable, relaxing environment so you can feel at ease and be yourself. Then I try to capture you as you interact with your surroundings, others in the shoot, with me.  I also accommodate requests as best as I can for specific shots you would like.

I’m interested in booking a portrait session. What can I expect? How long will it take?

Before we actually start the shoot, I like to take time with you to get to know you better and understand what you would like to get out of our session. We can meet well in advance of the shoot or just take some time right before we get the session started. Taking this time has a lot of benefits, for both of us.

The shoot itself can take anywhere from 45 minutes to a few hours. It all depends on how we’re going and what you would like from the session. I won’t stop shooting until we are both satisfied. I typically do not book more than 2 sessions in a day (with several hours in between) to accommodate however much time we want to take.

I never want my clients to feel rushed through a shoot because I have another commitment. My commitment during our session is to you alone, and we can proceed for as long as we need to.

What are your rates?

Contact me. It depends on whether we’re talking about a portrait session, event, etc. and any required travel on my part.

Do you offer your clients digital images of their photos?

It depends on the job. For commercial, editorial or event shoots, I absolutely provide digital copies of images. That’s expected. For portrait sessions, the availability of digital copies of images is limited. And there’s a reason for this.

If you choose to invest in custom photography, the prints or other products you ultimately receive should reflect that investment. I want you to have the best prints possible, and for me that means maintaining control over the final product. I realize that other photographers will off a CD of images from a portrait session, but images taken from those CDs and printed at your local discount store, grocery store, pharmacy or home printer will likely not come close to reflecting the investment you made in custom photography. And they should. My goal is to give my clients my absolute best. And for me that means some rigorous internal control over the final product.

However, realizing that people are often interested in digital copies, I do offer digital images after a minimum print package purchase or one digital image per referral. Contact me for more details.

What are some of your favorite locations to shoot portraits?

Trade secret! Just kidding… I do have some favorite locations to shoot portraits, and am always on the lookout for others. I will always offer suggestions but the choice of where we shoot is entirely up to you based on what you are comfortable with and what you hope to get out of the session. For example, I won’t put you in the middle of field of wildflowers if you have allergies and are terrified of bees. Do you have a favorite place? Let’s hear about it and see if we can make it work! After all, the photographs should be a reflection on you and who you are.

How can I reach you?

Easy! You can e-mail me at Jennifer@janusphotoarts.com, call me at (717) 435-206, or send me a message in Facebook by visiting http://www.facebook.com/janusphotoarts. You could even respond to this blog post, if you like!

About Jenn Long

Writer and photog. Uncompromising loyalty to my lip balm, lotions, a good mocha and funky socks.
This entry was posted in about me, photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

